February 25, 2014

The Cadence of Grace Series

You never know what you're going to get when you decide to read a new author, especially when it's their first book or series. Sometimes it's hard to get through a new author and other times you can't put the book down. These books are the latter. I loved them all so much!

The Cadence of Grace novels are now a huge favorite of mine.

The characters go through some odd trials throughout the series, but realistic non the less. I really loved them all in these novels. Especially Gideon. His faith journey was not your average predictable journey, but rather a very moving and genuine one.

So what are these books about?

Lonnie, while walking home gets caught talking to Gideon who tries to steal a kiss. Her father is outraged and insists they marry. The first book goes through their struggles of being married to someone they don't even know.

HERE is my more in depth review on the first book... Be Still My Soul )

They finally start to fall in love, but then in book two there's a shocker...Gideon has been married before and unbeknownst to him, still is! He is forced to return to his first wife and the emotional part of this situation had me stressing along with the characters. The author did a wonderful job of drawing me into their lives and to feel what they were feeling.

Book three continues Lonnie and Gideon's story, but I won't say what happens, other than this is the book Gideon finally surrenders to the Lord. It's written beautifully. Again I felt the characters deeply and will miss them now that the story is over.

If you like reading love stories with the Lord at the center, I think these books will fit the bill. With a beautiful setting in the Appalachian mountains, at the turn of the century, you're sure to enjoy all the descriptive writing of this time and place. As well as all the wonderful characters within it's pages.

Buy Book 1 HERE on Amazon
Buy Book 2 HERE on Amazon
Buy Book 3 HERE on Amazon


  1. That sounds like a great series. I haven't read any of her books yet. It's always a sign of a great read when you miss the characters once the book is over, right?

    1. Yes! I really loved all the characters in this series. I also loved how the author displayed the grace of God throughout the story.

      Thanks for stopping by Heidi! : )

  2. This series was so heart-wrenchingly beautiful! I absolutely agonized the wait I had to endure in between the books. I was sad when it ended, but happy for the characters! This author did an awesome job of showing God's grace working throughout Lonnie and Gideon's lives. I just loved it and so look forward to reading more by Joanne Bischof. Great review!

    1. Hi Shannah, I read the first book and waited for the second and third to read together and I'm so glad it did. I don't think I could have waited to read the third one! I'm looking forward to her books in the future too! Thanks for stopping by. : )

  3. These sound like beautiful books. Thank you so much for sharing them with Cozy Reading Spot


  4. I love it when characters are so well-written! Thanks for sharing this at Booknificent Thursday! Hope to see you again this week!


Feel free to leave your own thoughts in the comments. I try to respond to all of them by the end of the week. : )

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...